Use It

twat

So in case you missed my drunken foul-mouthed tirade last night; I watched the American Election. I had hoped to keep politics off my blog in order to figure out what kind of writer I wanted to be; not forcing myself into journalism without experimenting first.

But I am dismayed.

I can’t think of a recent time when a vote was such a blatant insult to women, black people, hispanic people, LGBTQIA+ people, immigrants, and I’m sure the list goes on.

In between the drunken tears of last night, and the tired defeat I felt this morning, something has awoken in me, in a concrete and certain way that I haven’t felt in years.

I had always steered myself away from writing about politics because I was scared of trolls; people who would call me a ‘libtard’ or a ‘feminazi.’ People who think that they can sneer at me because I think everyone should have the same basic civil rights, which I don’t think is really that much to ask.

I will use this. I will use it to drive me. I will write about politics. And culture. And rape culture. And feminism. And racism. And gender. Because the minute an entire country votes for a man like Trump, it votes for a system that will put down minorities, all because the balance of white supremacists was threatened. Is that what our society has become?

The people Trump attacks might not have a voice in a very short period of time. As a white privileged women I have a platform to lend them mine and attempt to bring about change.

Screw upsetting Republicans, screw Trump, and screw people who think that white people are the only ones who deserve civil rights.

I will write, and I will be angry and loud. I will protest and argue and disagree. I will not apologise because the people who want my inconvenient desire for equal rights to be silenced are louder or uncomfortable. God knows they won’t apologise.

People are in danger now, and if I don’t say something I am letting that happen. I am perpetuating it. It’s time to take a stand, for everything and everyone I believe in. It’s time for me to be brave.

One last thing. For those who voted for Trump and independents who would never have any influence in this election; when the economy crashes and minorities are targeted and there’s no one else left for him to attack and he comes for you, I want you to remember this: you were warned.

Leave a Reply

