Uppity Updates

life

(All picture credit goes to Sarah Andersen-Β dear god please don’t sue me)

Ok people, this is an unscheduled break from our usual content, I’m writing in actual prose! Yay!

So I’ve being writing and publishing some poetry lately- it began as an emotional outlet and is surprisingly the most successful thing I’ve published!

I originally began How To Mess Up Your Twenties to chronicle my life in Canada, and in general, but then I realised that besides my mental health I am undoubtedly boring.

I haven’t found a man to reenact pride and Prejudice with..yet. Definitely still up for that. I don’t do extreme sports. I generally prefer being inside and I don’t really partake in drama, and if I do, I’m not really in the habit of talking about it on the internet because I’m hyperaware that doing so would probably do more harm than good.

Having said that I am also aware that I often use my blog as a glorified diary.

Hopefully next term, which I am already dreading, will be more dramatic for everyone. I feel far less supported at my home university, and almost as if they actively want me to do badly so we’ll see how the next few months go.

On a different note I think it might be time for me to try and decide what type of writer I want to be. Do I want to be a journalist? A novelist? A poet? A short story writer? Because while I love it, blogger is a difficult title to turn into a profession with income that I can use to fully support myself. Any thoughts? Comments are completely welcome and truth be told, I need some advice.

I’m at a time in my life where although I have a vague goal, I still feel that I lack direction. I’m sick of uni- I’m sick of watching other people enjoy their lives while I stress over essays. I want to travel and fail and cry and discover new things about myself other than how bored I can get during the most exciting time of my life.

I know a lot of this is due to my mental health, but it is a recurring theme in my life- not enjoying times that everyone says I should. I want to explore and experience new things, and I don’t think I’m going to get that sitting behind a computer. It might be time for me to get serious psychological help. And more specifically, it might be time for me to start living my life the way I want to .

Feel free to comment! I would love to have some advice/feedback!

Leave a Reply

